Worcester Source

Publisher: Recital Music
Product Code: RMD1367
Composed by: Judith Bailey
Buy Now


Four short atmospheric and evocative pieces describing four beautiful and picturesque parts of England. They are aimed at the good intermediate duo, offering musical and technical challenges in equal measure, and are written in a tonal, accessible and enjoyable style. There is scope for exploring a wide palette of colours and this miniature suite would be suitable for any audience or occasion. Both performers play from the score but a separate part is included if the double bassist plays in solo tuning. “From May 24-26 2010 I stayed in Cropthorne, Worcestershire, visiting Bredon Hill, Upton-upon-Severn, and the Malvern Hills, returning to Cornwall later on May 26. On May 27 I composed four very short pieces for cello and bass which I hope someone will enjoy – hot off the press!” Composed in May 2010 and published by Recital Music in August 2010. Judith Bailey was born in Cornwall and studied at the Royal Academy of Music in London, specialising in clarinet, piano, conducting and composition. Since 1971 she has worked freelance, conducting Petersfield Orchestra and Southampton Concert Orchestra for around thirty years, and producing a substantial amount of music which is widely performed and published. In 2001 she returned to live and work in her native Cornwall where she is conductor of Penzance Orchestra Society and Cornwall Chamber Orchestra, and in the same year was awarded the honour of an ARAM from the Royal Academy. In 2005 she was made a Bard of the Cornish Gorseth for services to music in Cornwall.

Look Inside