Three Fantasias

Publisher: Recital Music
Product Code: RMD1385
Composed by: G.P. Telemann
Arranged by: David Heyes
Buy Now


Georg Philipp Teleman – Three Fantasias
for unaccompanied double bass
Arranged by David Heyes Fantasia No.1 in G major
Fantasia No.11 in G major
Fantasia No.12 in G minor Originally for flute and from a set of twelve, these three Fantasias transcribe very well for double bass and explore much of the range of the instrument. Octaves have been changed to suit the double bass and each Fantasia offers a useful introduction into Baroque music for the progressing intermediate bassist. There are musical and technical challenges in equal measure and opportunities for the bassist to explore a range of colours and timbres, and to develop skills at creating an architectural and overall shape of a work when there is no accompaniment. Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767) was an amazingly prolific composer, writing more than 3,000 works, and was considered by his contemporaries to be one of the leading German composers of his day. He wrote in most genres and his music incorporates German, French and Italian national influences and he was a link between the late Baroque and early Classical styles.

Fantasia No.1 in G major,
Fantasia No.11 in G major,
Fantasia No.12 in G minor
Look Inside