Surprising Variations, on a theme by Haydn

Composer: Haydn, Joseph
Code: 9780193548220
Arranger: Arranged by (music)
Editor: Blackwell, David

From the collection Solo Time for Violin Book 3, this set of variations is based on the theme from the slow movement of Haydn’s ‘Surprise’ Symphony (No. 94). A tongue-in-cheek nod to the 18th- and 19th- century tradition of writing variations showcasing different string techniques.


Look Inside

You may also like…