Sonata in G Minor, Opus 2, No.6

Publisher: Samek Music
Product Code: eCSCP021
Composed by: George Fredrick Handel
Arranged by: Marilyn Strevens
Buy Now


“Originally written for two violins, it could have been performed by flutes, oboes or recorders playing the contrapuntal melody lines anchored by a bass viol, cello or bassoon. There are four movements, Andante which leads into an Allegro followed by Arioso which leads into another Allegro. Apart from tempo instructions there are few articulations or dynamics. String players would use a ”light bow”, for example the quavers in the bass part would be detached, the same applies to the second saxophone part at the beginning of the Allegro.” – Marilyn Strevens
2018Marilyn Strevens studied music at Newton Park College (now Bath Spa University). Until her retirement she was head of music at Lockleaze School, Bristol. As a cellist she has performed extensively in chamber and orchestral settings and her enjoyment of the Baroque genres lead her to discover a wealth of rare and in some cases, unknown repertoire. Responding to performance demands, she later extended her instrumental commitment

Look Inside