Romanze Op.3

Composer: Oswald Schwabe
Code: RMD1363
Editor: David Heyes

Romanze is lyrical, romantic and elegant, typical of many works from the end of the 19th-century. It is a lyrical and charming addition to the intermediate solo repertoire and would be suitable for anyone who is just beginning to play in low thumb position, offering few challenges for the confident and enterprising young bassist.

Published in C.F. Schmidt’s ground-breaking series of works for double bass of 1903, compiled and edited by František Simandl, Schwabe’s Romanze has been long out of print. It was also published by Fr. Kistner (Leipzig) and the edition included a version for cello.

Recital Music’s new edition is the first to include piano accompaniments for both solo and orchestral tunings.

German bassist Oswald Schwabe (1846 -1909) was Professor of Double Bass at Leipzig Royal Conservatoire and Principal Bass of the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra. He studied with Emanuel Storch and was a successful teacher in his own right.

Schwabe’s works for double bass include a book of Technical Studies alongside three short pieces for double bass and piano Romanze Op.3, Adagio Op.4 and Cavatina.


Look Inside