Five for Hertl

Publisher: Recital Music
Product Code: RMD1432
Composed by: P. Kellach Waddle
Buy Now


Five for Hertl is a suite of five colourful, inventive and atmospheric pieces for the intermediate bassist. Written in bass clef, there are musical and technical challenges in equal measure with the opportunity to demonstrate the sonorous qualities of the double bass in its middle register. Written for David Heyes’ project dedicated to paying tribute to the bass and piano pieces of František Hertl (1906-1973), these five pieces are intended for the early to intermediate bassist but are suitable for the advanced or professional artist as well. 1. Andante Triste is moody and dark as it wanders through many ultra-chromatic harmonies before a final loud bit of anguish descends into a quiet. Eb minor. 2. Legenda is somewhat flashy and intensely dramatic, featuring an exciting 16th note motive involving open strings that is rife with a compelling sense of propulsion without any undue technical demand. 3. The aching fall of an augmented 5th underpins the majority of the material for Elegie — another mournful selection that gets more intense in its centre section before an augmentation of the pervasive motive ends the piece in quiet lament. 4 & 5. A moderate but lively Menuet comprises the fourth movement and finally, a standard Bacarolle-ish 6/8 Pastorale movement moves with dancing joy until a triumphant and glorious end in Bb Major.
[Programme notes by the composer] 2023 marked the fiftieth anniversary of the death of the Czech bassist-composer-conductor František Hertl (1906-1973). Hertl composed a number of impressive works for double bass including a series of 30 Miniatures for double bass and piano, aimed at conservatoire level bassists, which are little known today. Each is accessible and engaging, combining musical and technical skills in tandem, with supportive accompaniments which add character and distinction. Hertl Remembered is a project creating a new series of 30 Miniatures in memory of František Hertl. The composers writing for Hertl Remembered are David Heyes (UK), Eric Funk (USA), Michael Montgomery (USA), Peter Byrom-Smith (UK), P. Kellach Waddle (USA), John Alexander (UK), Christopher Field (UK) & Lourdes C. Montgomery (Cuba/USA).

  1. Andante Triste
  2. Legende
  3. Elegie
  4. Menuet
  5. Pastorale
Look Inside