Publisher: Recital Music
Product Code: RMD1304
Composed by: Michael Montgomery
Buy Now


Michael Montgomery writes: “Concertino was written for graduating high school senior Isaac A. and was meant to be performed by Isaac at his final concert with the Rogers High School Orchestra. High school seniors across the country were, as we know, deprived of the many ceremonies that define for them and their families this moment in their lives, so Isaac is by no means alone in his disappointment. The piece remains as a memento of this rite of passage and hopefully for Isaac there will be another opportunity for a performance. The rather marked punctuation of the accompaniment stands in stark contrast to the somewhat flowing manner of the solo bass part throughout the first section of the piece, but gives way leading into measure thirty to more relaxed and almost naïve set of arpeggiated figures in the measures that follow. The solo part itself changes register quickly, rising across its two octave range in the first measure of sounding. That being said, this solo should be easily accessible to any high school senior who has been conscientious in his study of the instrument.” The solo double bass part is written in orchestral tuning.

Look Inside