Adagio (Toccata, Adagio, and Fugue in C major), BWV 564

Publisher: OUPOUP Oxford
Product Code: 9780193546899
Composed by: Bach, J.S.
Edited by Hess, Myra
Buy Now


The pianist Myra Hess (1890–1965) became indelibly associated with Bach after she began playing ‘Jesu, joy’ by ear in 1920. Her arrangement of the Adagio (offprinted here from OUP’s Bach Transcriptions for Piano) from the Toccata, Adagio, and Fugue BWV 564 provides a range of pianistic but highly rewarding challenges.

Look Inside